About Ethiopia

Ethiopia has a population of approximately 70 million people and, with a land-mass covering 1,104,300km2 (426,370 sq miles) (five times the area of the United Kingdom), is the tenth largest country in Africa. The major ethnic/linguistic groups are the Oromo (40%), Amhara (22%) Tigrai (10%), Sidamo (9%) and Somali (6%). Its capital is Addis Ababa. […]

Read more ...

Important Travel information

Fuel name: Federal democratic of Ethiopia Capital city: Addis Ababa Land : 1.14 Million square Kilometers Topography and Climate: Ethiopia has an elevated plateau ranging in height between 2,000 to 3000 meters. In the north and south east part of the country there are high mountains whose picks rise to above 4,300 M. one of the bigets lake which […]

Read more ...

Public Holidays in Ethiopia

Public holidays are celebrated according to the Ethiopian (Julian) Calendar which consists of twelve months of thirty days each and a thirteenth month of five days (six days in leap year). The calendar is seven years behind the Western or Gregorian Calendar, with New Year falling in the month of September. Sunday is the weekly […]

Read more ...

Currency & currency regulations

The local currency is the Ethiopian Birr (ETB), made up of 100 cents. Birr notes are available in denominations of 5, 10, 50 and 100. Visitors may import an unlimited amount of foreign currency but this must be declared on arrival to the customs authorities on the appropriate blue-colored form. Foreign currency may only be […]

Read more ...

Visa & immigrations requirements

Visa applications may be obtained at Ethiopia’s diplomatic missions overseas. However, nationals of 33 countries are now allowed to receive their tourist visas on arrival in Ethiopia at the regular charges. List includes: 1. Australia 2. Austria 3. Argentina 4. Belgium 5. Brazil 6. Canada 7. China 8. Denmark 9. Finland 10. France 11. Germany […]

Read more ...

Follow Us